Clean start for 2020 Tidy Towns Awards

15th June 2020

Keep Australia Beautiful Western Australia has restarted the Tidy Towns Communities Awards for 2020.

The Awards were postponed due to the impacts of COVID-19 but as a result of the success of control measures and the low number of cases in regional WA, the awards will now go ahead with communities invited to enter the awards from Friday June 12.

Entries will be open from June 12 until September 7, 2020, when submissions are also due. This allows suitable time for communities to address community sustainability projects and navigate changing social conditions as a result of COVID-19.

Submissions will be assessed in September and judging visits will take place in October and November.

This year marks the 51st year of the Keep Australia Beautiful flagship program, which recognises and rewards regional and remote communities that take positive action to protect and enhance their environment.

Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities is a Keep Australia Beautiful Council program funded by the Waste Authority through the Waste Avoidance and Resource Recovery Account. It is sponsored by the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation and Main Roads WA.

Communities are invited to apply in one or all of the award's seven categories:

General Appearance;
Community Action and Wellbeing;
Environmental Sustainability;
Environmental Education;
Heritage and Culture;
Young Legends; and
Litter Prevention and Waste Management.

Tidy Towns Award information is available at

Comments attributed to Environment Minister Stephen Dawson:

"Regional communities have faced considerable challenges in 2020 and it's time to celebrate some of the fantastic sustainable achievements that have taken place despite those difficulties.

"I encourage all regional and remote towns to enter and reward the good work being done by their communities.

"Having an opportunity to share community initiatives has always been a big part of Tidy Towns and we look forward to hearing those stories during the awards this year."