Chairman's Foreword



Chairman's Foreword

michael aspinallKeep Australia Beautiful Council’s Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities awards encourage, reward and recognise regional and remote towns that are having sustainable impacts on their communities.  It gives me great pleasure to present the finalists and winners of the 2017 awards.

This year, Keep Australia Beautiful (WA) received 42 registrations from towns and communities from as far away as Cocos (Keeling) Islands in the north to Esperance in the south. Reaching these communities to judge their projects involved traveling great distances. I commend our judges for their professionalism and expertise, as well as volunteering their time.  The task of choosing finalists and winners entailed difficult decisions due to the diversity of communities and projects.

According to this year’s submissions, volunteers who engaged with Tidy Towns Committees worked more than 82,000 hours on 307 projects in regional Western Australia.  Participants, including, volunteers, businesses, community organisations, community resource centres and local shires have once again demonstrated how effective partnerships can keep communities thriving and sustainable.   

I encourage you to read through Snapshots, which details one project from all of this year’s Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities state finalists. I congratulate everyone involved in Tidy Towns for your hard work, motivation, dedication, and commitment. Congratulations to this year’s Tidy Towns State Winner, Kalgoorlie-Boulder.


Michael Aspinall, Chairman,  Keep Australia Beautiful Council of Western Australia

20 October 2017