Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities


Bunbury is Keep Australia Beautiful's Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards State Winner 2019. Read about the Winners here

Bunbury is 2019 State Winner


In 2019 Keep Australia Beautiful's flagship program Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards is celebrating 50 years of recognising and rewarding regional and remote communities who take positive action to protect and enhance their environment.  

Introduced to Western Australia by the Tourism Authority the awards continue to be a valued resource for communities in their sustainable and litter free initiatives.  Tourism Western Australia continue to sponsor the awards as does Main Roads WA. Bunbury was the first state winner in 1969.  You can read about the history here.

Tidy Towns benefits communities who enter
Listen to Environmental Education Award Winner 2018, talk about why they enter Tidy Towns.

The seven awards encompass initiatives as diverse as litter prevention, environmental education, preserving heritage, community action and youth leadership.   

Halls Creek, (2018 General Appearance winner), has made significant advances in conquering litter and in increasing community well being.  Listen to Vanessa Elliott, on how Halls Creek is changing its high street image, and encouraging the community to be involved.

View the video below to hear what people are saying about the benefits that Tidy Towns gives their communities.  For project ideas you can read about previous winners' projects here .

You can read more about Tidy Towns Sustainable Community Awards on the menu links on the right, or if you want to know more contact tidytowns@kabc.wa.gov.au  or phone 6364 6643.

The Tidy Towns Awards celebrate communities.
"We live in Community - not in Economy".  Listen to Peter Kenyon, CEO Bank of Ideas and WA Senior of the Year 2017 talk about community change from within.


Previous Winners
Congratulations to Collie, Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities 2018 State Winner 
Read about state winner and finalists in Snapshots 2018.