You are here: Home » Programs » Tidy Towns - Sustainable Communities

Tidy Towns Sustainable Communties

Tidy Towns Sustainable Communties is an annual awards program that acknowledges regional communities who foster sustainable behaviours and a litter-free environment.

According to Keep Australia Beautiful National (who manage the Australian Tidy Towns awards) over 1,000 communities and 90,000 volunteers engage in the Tidy Towns competition each year with projects contributing over $100 million in volunteer labour.

In Western Australia Tidy Towns entrants are eligible to win awards at regional, state and national levels. Please see the side tabs for comprehensive information on the program, past entrants and the 2014 timeline.

Toodyay are State Winners for 2014

The Hon. Albert Jacob, Minister Environment;Heritage with members from Toodyay

The historic town of Toodyay has taken out Western Australia’s Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities title for 2014.

Environment Minister Albert Jacob announced the state winner at the Keep Australia Beautiful WA (KABWA) awards ceremony in Perth today.
Mr Jacob said the awards recognised regional communities for their achievements in working towards sustainability, protecting their unique environments and preserving and celebrating their cultural heritage.
“The awards are about more than keeping towns clean and tidy,” he said.
Toodyay has seen a significant increase in the number of volunteers working in the community and contributing to various cultural and environmental projects.
“In the past 12 months, reported volunteer numbers have risen more than 60 per cent with 870 people contributing 14,000 volunteer hours."
“Toodyay has 24 separate groups who participate in KABWA’s Adopt-a-Spot litter prevention program which has had a massive impact on the general appearance of the town.”
Yhe Toodyay community demonstrated a strong sense of place, a high level of community engagement and a ‘can do’ attitude, making it a positive example to the rest of Australia.
Toodyay is now in the running for the national Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities award, to be announced next year.  A national judge will visit the town in the next few weeks.
A total  of 71 WA towns and communities were registered with the Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities program, now its 45th year. The registered communities included some 9,900 volunteers who contributed around 139,000 hours of their time.

Congratulations to all participants in the Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities program

These communities are building strong, vibrant and sustainable towns in regional WA.

The WA State category winners:

Community Action and Partnerships – Imintji

General Appearance – Cunderdin

Waste Management and Litter Prevention – Toodyay

Water Conservation – Merredin

Heritage and Culture – Southern Cross

Young Legends – Exmouth

Natural Environment Conservation – Harvey

Energy Innovation – York

In addition, Kimberley community, One Arm Point (Ardyaloon), was awarded a special commendation award for leadership and strong overall performance.

Read the media release and select the event date (21 November). 

You can view photographs at, Client Albums, access code TT2014.
Watch the fantastic Imintji Community’s acceptance speech with before and after shots, demonstrating why they are the worthy winners of the Community Action and Partnerships Award.

You can watch the Tidy Towns State Event with Westlink, Channel 602 - 

Tuesday 25 Nov, 10.30am, 4pm & 8.30pm and

Wednesday 26 Nov  until Sunday 30 Nov  8am, 10am, 4pm & 8.30pm. 


Listen to our radio ad playing on the Mary G show and our Tidy Towns ad (produced and played courtesy of the Department of Regional Development’s Westlink network).




Map of entrants 2014

Hear the former Governor’s speech from the 2010 State Award Ceremony

View Kalumburu School's sumbmission about littering.

Nth Dandalup Primary School DVD - environmental learning.

Darkan Primary School DVD - Build a worm farm







Related articles:

# Article Title
1 Albany and West Arthur take out Tidy Towns awards
2 Getting Help
3 Getting Started
4 History - 1969 to 2009
5 How to enter
6 Judging Criteria and Awards
7 Projects
8 Register for Tidy Towns 2014 State Award Ceremony
9 Register online
10 Tidy Towns 2013
11 Tidy Towns contact
12 Tidy Towns Resource order form
13 Timeline
14 Tips and information downloads
15 Videos
16 What sort of projects can be included
17 Winners